Skip to main content Skip to main navigation
Choose a Region

Select Your Region

Where can we help you today?

National Grid NY President Appointed to DOE Foundation for Energy Security and Innovation Inaugural Board of Directors


DOE’s First Ever Foundation for Energy Security and Innovation Will Accelerate the Development of New Clean Energy Technologies, Help Communities Unlock the Benefits of a Clean Energy Future

BROOKLYN – National Grid today announced the company’s New York President Rudy Wynter has been appointed to the inaugural board of directors for the Foundation for Energy Security and Innovation (FESI), the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE)’s first ever agency-related foundation.

“I am honored to have been appointed to serve as an inaugural board member of FESI and thrilled that the DOE’s first ever agency-related Foundation will focus on a topic I care deeply about – developing transformative technological solutions to the greatest challenges of our time,” said Wynter. “A key pillar of National Grid’s mission is accelerating New York’s clean energy transition through innovation, research, and investments in groundbreaking technologies. I’m proud to play a role in this important work and look forward to working with partners in New York and across the country to support new innovations that will enable us to achieve our clean energy goals.”

“FESI offers an unparalleled opportunity for support and advancement in our nation’s rapid and equitable transition to a clean energy economy,” said U.S. Secretary of Energy Jennifer M. Granholm. “The FESI Board of Directors will help meet the Department’s goals, and bring alive the biggest, boldest solutions to the challenges of our time.”   

Authorized through the 2022 CHIPS and Science Act, FESI is an independent non-profit entity that supports DOE in its critical mission to ensure America's continued security and prosperity through transformative science and technology solutions for addressing energy and environmental challenges.

Once established, FESI will help accelerate the commercialization of new and existing energy technologies by raising and investing funds through engagements with the private sector and philanthropic communities. The Foundation will help DOE provide additional resources, tools, and capacities for potential partners and communities across the country – supporting solutions-driven research and innovation that strengthens America’s energy and national security while helping achieve the Biden-Harris Administration's ambitious clean energy goals.

Since 1959, twelve agency-related independent 501(c)(3) nonprofit organizations have been created, which have averaged a return of $67 for every dollar in federal contributions.   

As directed in the 2022 CHIPS and Science Act, DOE identified individuals to serve on FESI’s governing board. Board members will have the opportunity to set priorities for FESI, make key hires including the executive director, establish bylaws and governance structure, as well as actively fundraise for FESI activities and initiatives – including fostering public-private partnerships, investing in companies commercializing critical energy technologies, supporting underrepresented groups and regions responding to DOE funding opportunities, and tackling a wide variety of systemic and distributed federal, state, and local deployment challenges.      

The board members represent some of the nation’s top leaders in energy and related sectors. In addition to Wynter, the inaugural board includes: 

  • The Honorable Vicky A. Bailey, Founder and CEO, Anderson Stratton Enterprises LLC. Chair of United States Energy Association (USEA). Former Assistant Secretary, Domestic Policy and International Affairs, U. S. Department of Energy. 
  • Dr. Noël Bakhtian, Director of Tech Acceleration, Bezos Earth Fund. Former Executive Director of the Energy Storage Center at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Former senior leadership team at Idaho National Laboratory. 
  • The Honorable Miranda Ballentine, an industry expert with 25 years of experience in the retail, defense, energy, utilities, and infrastructure sectors. Ballentine is devoted to accelerating clean energy for national security, economic prosperity, and solving climate change.
  • The Honorable Rita Baranwal, Senior Vice President, Westinghouse Electric Company. Former Assistant Secretary, Nuclear Energy in the U.S. Department of Energy. 
  • Mike Boots, Executive Vice President, Breakthrough Energy and Former Chair of the White House Council on Environmental Quality.
  • Dr. Mung Chiang, President and Roscoe H. George Distinguished Professor, Purdue University. Former Science and Technology Advisor to U.S. Secretary of State. 
  • Noelle Laing, Chief Investment Officer, Builders Initiative, Builders Vision. 
  • The Honorable Kathleen A. McGinty, Vice President and Chief Sustainability and External Relations Officer, Johnson Controls. Former Environmental Advisor & Chair of White House Council on Environmental Quality. Former Secretary of Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection.  
  • Tomeka McLeod, Vice President Hydrogen, US, bp. 
  • Nancy E. Pfund, Founder and Managing Partner of DBL Partners, a pioneer impact investing venture capital firm driving strong financial returns while promoting social change and environmental improvement.  
  • Stephen Pearse, Managing Director, Yucatán Rock Ventures. 
  • Jason Walsh, Executive Director, BlueGreen Alliance. Former Director of the Office of Strategic Programs in the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy. Former Senior Policy Advisor in the White House Domestic Policy Council. 

In addition to the appointed individuals, the authorizing statute language names four (4) Ex-Officio nonvoting board members from designated DOE Leadership positions: 

  • Jennifer Granholm, U.S. Secretary of Energy. 
  • Dr. Geri Richmond, Under Secretary for Science and Innovation, U.S. Department of Energy.
  • Jill Hruby, Under Secretary for Nuclear Security and Administrator of the National Nuclear Security Administration.
  • Dr. Vanessa Chan, Chief Commercialization Officer and Director of the Office of Technology Transitions. 

The Office of Technology Transition (OTT) within DOE will serve as a formal liaison to FESI as the Foundation works to advance the goals of the Department and support technology commercialization.  

Learn more about FESI and how it will complement DOE’s efforts to combat the climate crisis and enhance the nation’s energy security.    

About National Grid

National Grid (NYSE: NGG) is an electricity, natural gas, and clean energy delivery company serving more than 20 million people through our networks in New York and Massachusetts. National Grid is focused on building a smarter, stronger, cleaner energy future — transforming our networks with more reliable and resilient energy solutions to meet state climate goals and reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

For more information, please visit our website, follow us on X (formerly Twitter), watch us on YouTube, like us on Facebook and find us on Instagram.

Media Contacts

Karen Young

Downstate New York

(929) 324-4809

Send an email to Contact 1

Related News